Upcycle a plain denim skirt by adding sea shell inspired spirals

skirt4

Found a second hand Jigsaw skirt, good as new, for $4.

It’s a great shape for me but needs to be updated…made more interesting.

I found different shades of blue embroidery thread in my collection (also second hand) then went looking for inspiration.

I ended up at my nature table.

Shells

 Shells4shells3

or rather broken shells so you can see their secret inner spirals!

skirt2skirt3

Just a simple running stitch in a spiral pattern.

As each colour thread ran out I tied it off and started a new colour.

You could draw the spiral first with sewing chalk but I felt comfortable with my more organic spirals. skirt

Might add some more…….one day

Lucy x

One thought on “Upcycle a plain denim skirt by adding sea shell inspired spirals

Leave a Reply

