How to make a drawstring bag with a woven circle embelishment

IMG_3112

So I’ve just made this  Twill Textile Design circle weaving kit. I think I’m going to make the kit it’s very own drawstring bag to travel around with me. I’m going to sew this little beauty to the front so I know what’s in the bag!

I’m following a tutorial by Threading My Way drawstring bag tutorial because I want to line the bag. I’ve changed it slightly at the end.

IMG_3099

Securely sewn onto the right side of the fabric.

IMG_3360

Cut to shape so the woven circle is in the right place. I ended up sewing the top of the side seams in a bit so that the outside opening was the same as the lining opening.

IMG_3358

Cut the lining out to be about 5cm smaller than the outside. Sew it leaving a 8cm gap at the bottom so you can pull it all through later.

IMG_3364

Put the inside right side out and into the lining. (this is easier to see on Pam’s tutorial as she has contrasting fabric).

IMG_3367

Pin it in place. (Next time I’m going to add the binding in this step).

IMG_3368IMG_3369

This is the magic part!

IMG_3370

Ta daaah!

IMG_3371

Top stitch or hand sew the gap in the lining.

IMG_3372 IMG_3373

Sew on some binding which will hold the drawstring in place…remember to leave an opening!

IMG_3374

Feed some ribbon through using a safety pin.

IMG_3375  IMG_3377

Tie a knot in the ribbon and you just have to…….

IMG_3378

Fill it with things you love!

lucy rainbow

2 thoughts on “How to make a drawstring bag with a woven circle embelishment

Leave a Reply

