Weaving for young children

Here is a weaving loom suitable for children who have completed their Introduction to Weaving.

This is my weaving here. The only difference would be that younger children are still working out the tension when they weave back and forth so their work might have a ‘waist’ as you can see in some of these great ideas on my Pintrest Weaving Inspiration for children board.

Other than experimenting with colours and textures the tension is the real technical focus for children at this stage….and looking at the photos for me too!

IMG_3082IMG_3083

IMG_3385 IMG_3389

No what am I going to do with it? A little lined purse I think.

IMG_3544

I’ll pop it into my ‘small projects’ work basket and get to it when the moment arises. I wonder if I can make something as nice as these?

Woollenflower pouch

They can be lovely as small pillows, wall hangings, table runners or often children will make blankets for dolls and teddies.

Lucy x

Leave a Reply

